top of page

No, I'm on Dry Life! For a bit.

I have hit a PR, my longest period to date of not drinking. Not ONE DRIP from my old companions.

The early hours of New Years day seen me, my friend Hannah and her boyfriend discuss our resolutions. Then, in January I was hanging out with a friend when I told her I had decided to give up alcohol, 'I'm doing dry January too!' she replies.

This wasn't for dry January, and I actually wish that dry January wasn't at the same time I decided to avoid alcohol, because the adverts counting down to February drink offers were a MARE to avoid. This was just for me, to work on my own health and escape a shitstorm, taking the leap to cut ties with a small reliance I think I've come to recognise over the last few years. For confidence, to tackle anxiety, to cure bad days, to create happy days. It just didn't work anymore.

I definitely don't want to say i'll never drink again, because I think I will. But for now I want to be responsible for every choice and action I make, on a level(ish) head. I wanted to publish this blog to publicly challenge myself to keep it up. It is HARD to be in an environment where everyone is drinking except me, but I simply don't trust the relationship at this time. Needless to say but repudiated by me for quite some time, sharing my bed with a herbal tea and not a bottle of gin leaves a better mark in the morning.

At least I don't work in a brewery anymore?!


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page